ADA 10 Under 10 Awards honor new dentists for making a difference

Winners exhibit excellence in philanthropy, leadership and more

Muhalab Al Sammarraie, D.D.S.
Alex Barrera, D.D.S.
Aaron Bumann, D.D.S.
Alexandra Fitzgerald, D.D.S.
Stephanie Ganter, D.D.S.
Sapna Lohiya, D.D.S.
Sable Anne-Marie Muntean, D.M.D.
Adam E. Saltz, D.M.D.
Saniya Setia, D.D.S.
Andrew Tonelli, D.M.D.

The co-founder of an organization that aims to improve the oral health of the LGBTQ+ community, the youngest president-elect of the Maryland State Dental Association and an advocate for the Massachusetts Question 2 ballot initiative are among this year's winners of the ADA 10 Under 10 Awards.

The awards recognize 10 early-career dentists who demonstrate excellence in the profession. The ADA New Dentist Committee chose the recipients for making a difference in science, research and education; practice excellence; philanthropy; leadership; and advocacy. All the winners are ADA members who graduated dental school less than 10 years ago. They will receive a $1,000 cash award and a plaque.

Below are the 10 Under 10 Award winners. To learn more, visit .

Muhalab Al Sammarraie, D.D.S., El Cajon, California
Universidad De La Salle Bajio in Mexico — 2019

Dr. Al Sammarraie is a site dental director at AltaMed Health Services, one of the nation's largest federally qualified health centers; a subject matter expert in law and ethics for the Dental Board of California; and an international lecturer at the Universidad de la Sale Bajio, where he teaches practice management.

"After years of bearing through complex circumstances and having more reasons to fail, this position proves that the stronger the wind, the stronger the trees. It is a steppingstone to continue providing and improving quality care for our community and to advocate for my profession and people, and this means more to me than I could put into words."

Alex Barrera, D.D.S., Houston
University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston — 2017

Dr. Barrera is the president and co-founder of the Houston Equality Dental Network, an organization that aims to improve the oral health of the LGBTQ+ community through awareness, education, advocacy and service, and a general dentist who practices at Legacy Community Health Center in Houston.

"Being recognized as a 10 Under 10 Award winner is such an incredible honor. It's a reminder of how thankful I am to be in a profession that cares so much about the community I'm passionate about helping."

Aaron Bumann, D.D.S., Gladstone, Missouri
University of Minnesota School of Dentistry — 2013

Dr. Bumann is a public policy advocate for Missouri with the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, a pediatric dentist in Kansas City, Missouri, and a speaker at the University of Missouri, Kansas City on pediatric dentistry, personal finance and advocacy.

"I am thrilled and honored to have received such a prestigious award. What this award really means to me is that the New Dentist Committee and the ADA see the value in our patients as individuals worth advocating for. So many of our patients need an advocate, and when the NDC and ADA honor advocacy, it is the patients who win."

Alexandra Fitzgerald, D.D.S., Frederick, Maryland
University of Maryland School of Dentistry — 2018

Dr. Fitzgerald is the youngest president-elect of the Maryland State Dental Association and has served in numerous other positions and committee assignments at the local and state levels of organized dentistry.

"I am truly honored and humbled to be recognized in a field where so many amazing dentists have accomplished great things early in their careers. I am thankful to be part of a profession and organizations where I have been given opportunities and mentorship to serve my community."

Stephanie Ganter, D.D.S., Dallas
Texas A&M University College of Dentistry — 2016

Dr. Ganter is the co-creator of the YouTube channel Between Two Teeth and the co-owner of the first-of-its-kind combined periodontics and oral and maxillofacial surgery practice in Garland, Texas.

"This is an opportunity to highlight all new dentists. Together, we have grown through a pandemic. Several of my friends and colleagues with new offices, new associateships and/or new families are embarking through unknown territory. I feel that this award is a symbol of our perseverance and strength as the next generation of dentists. I’m excited to see what we can accomplish together in the years to come; it is truly a new day in dentistry."

Sapna Lohiya, D.D.S., Hermosa Beach, California
University of California, Los Angeles School of Dentistry — 2013

Dr. Lohiya is an oral and maxillofacial surgeon in Los Angeles, a clinical instructor for the UCLA School of Dentistry and the president-elect of the Western Los Angeles Dental Society.

"It is an honor to be recognized as one of this year's ADA 10 Under 10 Award recipients. I am especially grateful to my colleagues and mentors for their nomination and support throughout my dental career. With this recognition, I feel more motivated to continue my service work to the local community and inspired to find more ways to contribute to our wonderful field."

Sable Anne-Marie Muntean, D.M.D., St. Louis
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine School of Dental Medicine — 2018

Dr. Muntean is the co-founder of ignitePreDent, a mentorship organization that assists pre-dental students through their journey into dental school, and the first full-time female staff dentist at the St. Louis VA Medical Center.

"Earning this prestigious award confirms that achieving a dream is always possible with the right ingredients: commitment, integrity and ambition. Everything I do is because I enjoy it, and having it recognized in such a manner is unbelievably humbling."

Adam E. Saltz, D.M.D., South Portland, Maine
Nova Southeastern University — 2017

Dr. Saltz is the vice president of the Maine Dental Association, an assistant clinical professor at the University of New England and a faculty consultant at Kansas City University.

"It's an honor to be recognized by the ADA on this scale, but it's just the start. I want to work that much harder to help other rising leaders, researchers, clinicians and educators move our profession forward."

Saniya Setia, D.D.S., Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine — 2016

Dr. Setia is one of the youngest recipients of an honorary fellowship in the Pierre Fauchard Academy and practices at Marysville Family Dentistry in Marysville, Pennsylvania.

"Receiving this recognition is a symbol of respect, acknowledgement and acceptance of a greater responsibility that encourages me to contribute even more towards the upliftment of the health of our society. I aspire to lead by example and motivate my peers and young dentists through my career journey, showing them the essence of persistence, fortitude and excellence in work ethic."

Andrew Tonelli, D.M.D., North Reading, Massachusetts
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine — 2014

Dr. Tonelli served as the primary spokesperson for the Massachusetts Dental Care Providers for Better Dental Benefits campaign committee, which supported the state's Question 2 ballot measure in the November 2022 election, and he is the immediate past chair of the Boston District Dental Society.

"It's as important as ever that dentists work together to advocate for our profession, our patients and the dentists who will come after us. I very much appreciate the recognition of my small contribution to those ends."

Recommended Content


© 2023 American Dental Association